Licensure Requirements

 

Re-Licensure Info Graphic by sstein9

Quick PA Social Work License Facts:

  • The licensure cycle renews every 2 years
  • 30 hours of instruction is required per 2 year license cycle which can be taken in-person online or both
  • The current two-year licensing period began March 1, 2019 and will end February 28, 2021
  • CE programs must be offered by approved providers to count for CE hours
  • Excess hours over 30 may NOT  be carried over to the next renewal period
  • At least 3 of the required 30 clock hours must be ethics related instruction
  • At least 3 of the required 30 clock hours must be Act 31 child abuse prevention/intervention instruction, access the course here
  • At least 1 of the required 30 clock hours must be suicide prevention/assessment instruction
  • Newly licensed social workers do not need to take CE courses until after the first time their license is renewed
  • Save your CE documentation for 4 years following completion as the PA State Board will randomly audit license renewals to determine compliance 
  • Licensure covers LSW, LCSW, LMFT, and LPC designations

The University of Pittsburgh School of Social Work is an accredited and approved provider of CE hours for Pennsylvania and New York states. For more information about licensure requirements please visit the State Board website or NASW-Pa.