Dean Davis recipient of the 2017 Richard Lodge Prize

Dean Larry Davis has been selected to receive the 2017 Richard Lodge Prize from Adelphi University School of Social Work.

Dr. Davis is one of social work’s leading thinkers, activists, and scholars in the narrative about race in America and its role in social justice. He has dedicated his professional and personal life to the issue of race and to creating solution-based dialogues that are focused on promoting a more racially equitable society. Dr. Davis has an extensive record of publications on the psychology of race and group work practice.

Named for the late Dr. Richard Lodge, a leading social work educator and Adelphi University professor. Lodge also received an MSW from the University of Pittsburgh School of Social Work in 1950.

The prize honors social work educators for their outstanding contributions to the profession through the development of social work theory and practice.

The Lodge Prize will be awarded at the School’s annual Alumni and Friends Event, on Friday, May 5, 2017 where Dr. Davis will deliver the keynote address.

Past recipients of the Richard Lodge Prize include:

Dr. Michael Sherraden, Washington University (2015)

Dr. Lorraine Gutierrez, University of Michigan (2013)

Dr. Susan Kemp, University of Washington (2011)

Dr. Sarah Gehlert, Washington University in St. Louis (2009)

Dr. Marsha Mailick Seltzer, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2006)

Dr. Sharon Berlin, University of Chicago (2002)

Dr. Lawrence Shulman, SUNY at Buffalo School of Social Work (1999)

Dr. Dennis Saleebey and Dr. Ann Weick, University of Kansas (1995)

Dr. Hans S. Falck, Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University (1993)

Dr. Howard Goldstein, Case Western Reserve University (1991)